WHO WE ARE

Our experienced education consultants, trainers, researchers, and evaluators provide practical solutions to even the most complex problems. Whether you need short-term help or a long-term partner, our team can help you focus on what matters most to change the odds of success for your students and staff. We collaborate with our clients to help transform mindsets, inspire great education practices, and discover ever-better ways to help students flourish.

You’ll find a trusted, reliable partner in us, and service that exceeds your expectations. Contact us today to see how we can help your school or system achieve its goals.

Contact Us

by phone
800.858.6830
by email
info@mcrel.org

by web form

Leadership
Bryan Goodwin

Bryan Goodwin

CEO & President

Bryan thrives on translating research into practice, scanning the world for new insights and best practices on teaching and leading, and helping educators everywhere adapt them to address their own challenges. A frequent conference presenter, he is the author of Simply Better: Doing What Matters Most to Change the Odds for Student Success, and co-author of The 12 Touchstones of Good Teaching and Balanced Leadership for Powerful Learning: Tools for Achieving Success in Your School. Before joining McREL in 1998, Bryan was a college instructor, a high school teacher, and an award-winning business journalist.

Sue Desch

Chief Financial Officer

Since 1991, Sue has been part of the Business Services team, ensuring that McREL is financially able to continue doing the work we do. As CFO, she oversees our fiscal services, manages complex budgets and systems, and upholds the integrity of our operational and regulatory compliance. As a member of the leadership team, Sue also helps develop and implement strategies and policies that enhance corporate success.

Melissa Gray

Chief People Officer

Melissa came to McREL International after serving in talent acquisition for a multinational consulting firm and a global auto-parts manufacturer. At McREL she leads internal communications, human resources and legal compliance, staff development and culture, and special projects. In addition, she monitors organizational objectives and performance. She holds an M.B.A. with a specialization in human resources and leadership studies from the Baker College Center for Graduate Studies and a B.A. in English from the University of Michigan-Flint.

Robin Javis

Robin Jarvis

Chief Program Officer

Committed to ensuring that all children are given high-quality educational opportunities, Robin leads McREL’s Research, Evaluation, and Technical Assistance team in providing policymakers and stakeholders with research evidence to help them make informed decisions. As head of McREL’s Institutional Development team, Robin leads the creation and implementation of McREL’s research agenda and strategy, overseeing the development of major proposals and building relationships with funders and partners. A K–12 educator for over 20 years, Robin has experience with educational research and development projects, including two Regional Educational Laboratories and three Regional Comprehensive Centers. Robin holds three degrees from Louisiana State University: a B.S. in elementary education, an M.Ed. in elementary and early childhood education, and a Ph.D. in education leadership and research.

Ron Miletta

Chief Marketing & Innovation Officer

Ron leads new product and content development programs, publishing, and the consulting and professional learning services group for McREL. He directs and manages the organization’s marketing, product development, and sales programs. He serves as a member of the leadership team, and supports business and revenue development initiatives. Before arriving at McREL, Ron held progressively senior roles in product development, sales, and marketing at educational publisher ASCD. Ron holds two degrees from the University of Pittsburgh: an M.B.A. with a specialization in marketing and international business, and a B.A. in political science and business.

Sheila Arens

Executive Director

Sheila brings a wide variety of experience in basic and applied research to her work at McREL, where she leads research and program evaluation projects that translate to better teaching, better learning, and more effective system improvement. She supervises research and program evaluation staff and oversees large-scale studies, including those for federally funded grants and contracts. She also serves as principal investigator and methodological and project advisor to the research team.

303.632.5625 | sarens@mcrel.org

Tedra Clark

Tedra Clark

Research Director

Tedra provides strategic leadership in developing, planning, and implementing research endeavors in education, particularly in the areas of school climate, instructional practices, formative assessment, and professional development. With more than a decade of experience in cognitive science research and applied education research, Tedra’s expertise includes research design, instrument development, data collection, statistical analysis (including psychometric analysis, hierarchical linear modeling, structural equation modeling, and longitudinal growth modeling), research synthesis, and dissemination.

303.632.5629 | tclark@mcrel.org

Kathleen Dempsey

Senior Director

With 30 years of experience as a teacher and administrator, Kathleen knows what it takes to make an impact in schools. At McREL, she helps schools, districts, and state education agencies with strategic vision, program development, and delivery of training and coaching focusing on academic standards, curriculum, and instruction. She is also the director of the North Central Comprehensive Center, a federally funded regional center operated by McREL that builds states’ capacity to implement and sustain improvement initiatives.

303.632.5634 kdempsey@mcrel.org

Roger Fiedler

Senior Director of Marketing

Roger leads a team of communicators who are committed to sharing McREL’s work and stories of client success with educators around the world, spreading the word on effective ways to help students, teachers, and leaders flourish. He oversees McREL’s external communications, events, marketing, and bookstore efforts. Before joining McREL, he was a school district communications director for 15 years.

303.632.5579 | rfiedler@mcrel.org

Phillip Herman

Executive Director

Phillip is dedicated to understanding the science of learning, and how best to design and implement learning innovations and methodologies. As director of the REL Pacific at McREL, Phillip leads a team of researchers whose goals are to study and improve the educational outcomes of students in the Pacific Region, including Hawaii, three U.S. territories, and the freely associated states. Previously, Phillip was a director of research at the University of Pittsburgh and Northwestern University.

808.664.8187 | pherman@mcrel.org

Dale Lewis

Dale Lewis

Senior Director
Research, Evaluation & Technical Assistance

Big-picture systemic improvement for schools and services for special populations of students are Dale’s areas of expertise and experience. He provides strategic vision, direction, and leadership in the development, planning, and implementation of a wide variety of consulting services and technical assistance for districts and education systems. Previously, Dale was director of the Texas Comprehensive Center and director of special education for a cooperative of five Texas school districts.

303.632.5522dlewis@mcrel.org

Kristin Rouleau

Kristin Rouleau

Senior Director
Learning Services & Innovation

Kristin works with schools, districts, and state departments of education as they navigate change and implement practices and structures to reduce variability and increase student achievement. Through consulting, coaching, and facilitation of workshops, she provides services, strategies, and technical assistance to support change efforts. Kristin earned administrative credentials at the University of Washington, and holds an M.A. in Curriculum and Teaching from Michigan State University and a B.A. in Elementary Education from Western Michigan University.

303.632.5547 krouleau@mcrel.org

Katie Stringer

Katie Stringer

Research Director

With extensive experience in research design and program evaluation, Katie leads McREL’s proposal development and research and evaluation projects, including their design, implementation, and reporting. She is the co-director of the Pathways i3 development grant awarded in 2016, lead evaluator for CosmoQuest public education activities (awarded by NASA in 2016), and lead evaluator on the SEED NW BOCES i3 grant awarded in 2015. She holds a Ph.D. in human development and family studies from Auburn University, where she focused on adolescent identity and career development, and relationships education research and evaluation.

303.632.5567 | kstringer@mcrel.org

Beth Watson

Senior Director
Sales & Client Partnerships

Beth deepens McREL’s involvement with school districts, area education agencies, and education departments so teachers, leaders, and students can experience even more success. Bringing McREL’s emphasis on collaboration, Beth blends client connections with data analysis to provide educators with the right solutions to help them achieve their goals. After studying journalism at the University of Colorado–Boulder, Beth dived into the business side of training and education, holding management and executive positions at national learning services providers and an education research firm.

303.632.5536 | bwatson@mcrel.org

McREL Staff

Cheryl Abla, Implementation Advisor, 303.632.5604, cabla@mcrel.org
Max Altman, Researcher, 808.664.8179, maltman@mcrel.org
Terri Bissonette, Consultant, 303.632.5652, tbissonette@mcrel.org
Karen Bumgardner, Managing Evaluator, 304.347.1841, kbumgardner@mcrel.org
Betsy Callaway, Administrative Specialist, 303.632.5504, bcallaway@mcrel.org
Johanna Carillo, Administrative Specialist, 808.664.8175, jcarillo@mcrel.org
Daisy Carreon, Managing Researcher, 808.664.8180, dcarreon@mcrel.org
Amy Cordier
, Research Associate, 303.632.5524, acordier@mcrel.org
Judy Counley
, New Media Developer, 303.632.5548, jcounley@mcrel.org
Ben Cronkright
, Consultant, 303.632.5521, bcronkright@mcrel.org
Shelby Danks, Managing Researcher, 303.632.5653, sdanks@mcrel.org
Kent Davis, Associate Director, 303.632.5537, kdavis@mcrel.org
Tara Donahue, Managing Evaluator, 303.632.5551, tdonahue@mcrel.org
Katie Gao, Communications Specialist, 808.664.8178, kgao@mcrel.org
Wanda Garcia
, Administrative Coordinator, 303.632.5603, wgarcia@mcrel.org
Kimberly Good, Managing Evaluator, 303.632.5546, kgood@mcrel.org
Barry Harris,
Managing Consultant, 808.664.8186, bharris@mcrel.org

Jane Hill, Managing Consultant, 303.632.5529, jhill@mcrel.org
Hsiang-Yeh Ho, Managing Evaluator, 304.347.1845, hho@mcrel.org
Eric Hübler, Writer/Editor, 303.632.5520, ehubler@mcrel.org
Ashli Knotts, Evaluation Associate, 304.347.1846, aknotts@mcrel.org
Marcellus Lewis
, Development Specialist, 303.632.5606, mlewis@mcrel.org
Susan Lopez, Program Manager, 303.632.5563, slopez@mcrel.org
Lisa Maxfield, Program Manager, 303.632.5561, lmaxfield@mcrel.org
Maura McGrath, Knowledge Management Specialist, 303.632.5558, mmcgrath@mcrel.org
Adena Miller, Managing Consultant, 303.632.5530, amiller@mcrel.org
Kirsten Miller, Communications Manager, 303.632.5632, kmiller@mcrel.org
Susan Ryan, Consultant, 303.632.5531, sryan@mcrel.org
Lisa Scherff, Managing Researcher, 808.664.8182, lscherff@mcrel.org
Christine Schmidt, Marketing Consultant, 303.632.5650, cschmidt@mcrel.org
Madonna Shafer, Administrative Specialist, 303.632.5507, mshafer@mcrel.org
Susan Shebby, Managing Researcher, 303.632.5613, sshebby@mcrel.org
Mel Sussman, Implementation Advisor, 303.632.5589, msussman@mcrel.org
Nancy Taylor, Development Manager, 304.347.1863, ntaylor@mcrel.org

Board of Directors

Kenneth Anderson, Chair | Adjunct Professor, University of Nebraska
Patrick Woods
, Immediate Past Chair | Director of Talent Management and Diversity, Westar Energy in Topeka, Kansas
Deborah Backus, Chair Elect | National Director of Strategic Partnerships, Blueprint Schools Network in Denver, Colorado
Michael Ceballos | Treasurer | retired, former Wyoming State President, Qwest
Mickey Bogart | Instructor, Kansas State University
John Canuel | President, JMCanuel Consulting in Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Jim Edwards | retired, former Assistant Executive Director of Leadership Development, Kansas Association of School Boards
Michael Middleton, J.D. | Interim President, University of Missouri
Kimberly Norwood, J.D. | Professor of Law and African American Studies at Washington University in St. Louis
Rita Sablan, Ed.D. | retired, former Commissioner of Education, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands Public School System